Skip to main content


A community planning committee, along with the support of county, state and federal agencies and stakeholders, has addressed natural disasters that may occur within our Towns and County and developed strategies to


What is it?

List of Members with Titles and Jurisdictions

What is the Mitigation Planning Committee?

The Mitigation Planning Committee (MPC) is a working group that was formed to oversee the development of the Suffolk County Multi-Jurisdictional, Multi-Hazard, Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan. It consists of at least one representative from each jurisdiction participating in the development of the Plan, and works in conjunction with the Contracted Consultant(s), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), New York State Office of Emergency Management (OEM), Long Island Power Authority (LIPA), Suffolk County Water Authority (SCWA) and other parties as necessary to ensure that all required activities are accomplished. The ultimate goal of the Committee is to ensure that the final Plan is approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

MPC Members


JURISDICTION / AGENCY / ENTITY Point of Contact Name Title
Suffolk County Primary Thomas O'Hara Project Manager
  Alternate Robert Sheron Planning Aide
  Alternate Brian Hoffman Planning Aide
Consultant - Tetra Tech Primary Jonathan Raser Project Manager
  Alternate Alison Miskiman Deputy Project Manager
FEMA Primary Paul Hoole Mitigation Planner
NYS OEM Primary Patrick Beckley Regional Director
  Alternate Debra Dunbrook Mitigation Programs
Town of Babylon Primary Brian Zitani Waterways Management Supervisor
  Alternate Gil Hanse Director Emergency Management
Babylon  Primary Charles Gardner Department Public Works
  Alternate Suzanne Schettino Administrative Assistant
Amityville Primary Diane Sheridan Administrator/ Clerk
  Alternate Andrea Conzo Deputy Clerk
Lindenhurst Primary Douglas Madlon Deputy Administrator
  Alternate Raymond Fais Emergency Managerment Coordinator
Town of Brookhaven Primary Dan Sicilian Safety Officer
  Alternate Peter O'Leary Commissioner Public Safety
Bellport Primary Donald Mullins Director Code Enforcement
  Alternate Katie Mehrkens Village Clerk
Belle Terre Primary Robert Sandak Trustee
  Alternate Ted Lucki Mayor
Lake Grove Primary Lee Hoeffner Village Administrator
  Alternate Doug Colino Highway Superintendant
Mastic Beach Primary Bill Biondi Mayor
  Alternate Robert Morrow Trustee
Old Field Primary Dale Salzberg Village Clerk
  Alternate Mike Levine Mayor
Patchogue Primary Paul Pontieri Mayor
  Alternate P Sarich Emergency Manager
Poquott Primary Barbara Donovan Mayor
  Alternate Annette Alfieri Clerk
Port Jefferson Primary Robert Juliano Village Clerk - Administrator
  Alternate Margot Garant Mayor
Shoreham Primary Cathy Donahue Spier Village Clerk
  Alternate Leonard Emma Village Trustee
Town of East Hampton Primary Bruce Bates Emergency Preparedness Coordinator
  Alternate Kimberly Shaw Environmental Protection Director
East Hampton Primary Michael Tracey Police Captain
  Alternate Gerard Larsen Police Chief
Sag Harbor Primary Thomas Fabiano Chief of Police
  Alternate Bess Kamper Village Clerk - Administrator
Town of Huntington Primary Betty Walsh Special Assistant to the Supervisor
  Alternate Mathew Wieder Planning Aide
Asharoken Primary Greg Letica Mayor
  Alternate Nancy Rittenhouse Village Clerk
  Alternate William Raisch Emergency Manager
Huntington Bay Primary Raymond Hubbs Chief of Police
  Alternate Chris Jack Police Officer
Lloyd Harbor Primary Eileen Schulz Village Clerk
  Alternate Robert Schwarz Supt of Public Works
Northport Primary Eric Bruckenthal Chief of Police
  Alternate Joy Nygren Emergency Coordinator
Town of Islip Primary Anthony D'Amico Deputy Commissioner of Public Safety
  Alternate Anne Mendes Public Safety
Brightwaters Primary Joseph McNulty Mayor
  Alternate Denise Gibson Deputy Mayor
Islandia Primary Allan Dorman  Mayor
  Alternate Michael Zaleski  Public Safety
Ocean Beach Primary James Mallott Mayor
  Alternate Kevin Schelling Emergency Manager
  Alternate Steve Brautigam Clerk/Treasurer
Saltaire Primary Mario Posillico Emergency Manager
  Alternate Robert Cox Mayor
  Alternate Donna Lyudmer Treasurer
Town of Riverhead Primary David J. Hegermiller Chief of Police
  Alternate Edward Frost Sergeant, PD
Town of Shelter Island Primary James J. Read Chief of Police
  Alternate Jennifer Zacha Police Clerk
Dering Harbor Primary Timothy Hogue Mayor
  Alternate Laura Hildreth Village Clerk
Town of Smithtown Primary John Valentine Department Director of Public Safety
  Alternate Richard McKay Chief Fire Marshal
  Alternate Laura Feitner Assistant Civil Engineer
Head of the Harbor Primary John Valentine Town Director of Public Safety
  Alternate Natale Tartamella Mayor
Nissequogue Primary John Valentine Town Director of Public Safety
  Alternate Richard Smith Mayor
The Branch Primary John Valentine Town Director of Public Safety
  Alternate Thomas Keon Mayor
Town of Southampton Primary Francis Zappone Deputy Supervisor
  Alternate Leonard Marchese Comptroller
North Haven Primary Jeffrey Sander Mayor
  Alternate E. Dianne Skilbred Deputy  Mayor
Quogue Primary Peter Sartorius Mayor
  Alternate Chris Osborne Emergency Manager
Sagaponack Primary Donald Louchheim Mayor
  Alternate Rosemarie Cary Winchell Village Clerk - Treasurer
Southampton Primary Mark Epley Mayor
  Alternate Stephen Funsch Administrator
Westhampton Beach Primary Conrad Teller Mayor
  Alternate Elizabeth Lindbit Village Clerk
Westhampton Dunes Primary Gary Vegliante Mayor
  Alternate Laura Dalessandro Village Clerk 
Town of Southold Primary Lloyd Reisenberg Deputy Emergency Preparedness Coordinator
  Alternate Martin Flatley Chief of Police 
  Alternate Heather Lanza Planning
Greenport Primary David Nyce Mayor
  Alternate David Abatelli Village Administrator
Shinnecock Nation Primary Dan Collins Chairman Trustee
  Alternate Tracey Pace ER Team Member
  Alternate Clay Carle ER Team Member
Unkechaug Nation Primary Mary Treadwell Chairperson
  Alternate Veronica Treadwell Tribal Planner
  Alternate   Emergency Manager
SCWA Primary Jeff Szabo CEO
  Alternate Joseph Pokorny Deputy CEO Operations
  Alternate Richard Bova Emergency Manager